Greater New Zion Baptist Church - Leading The Right Way

Greater New Zion Baptist Church
"Welcomes" the newly installed
Bishop Lionel W. Smith as our Pastor and Shepherd. Bishop Smith loves the Lord and trusts in His Word.

Bishop Lionel W. Smith is a Minister of the gospel working for the advancement of the kingdom of God, and a vibrant member of the community.

Bishop is married and has 6 children and 13 grandchildren of whom are living in the United States and abroad.

Bishop Smith served in the U.S. Army from 1966-1968. As a Communication Expert in Viet Nam he held a high security clearance and received the Army Commendation Medal and the Purple heart for his dedicated service to our country.

Bishop  Smith was licensed to preach the gospel in 1979 at the Hollywood Baptist Church of Christ under the Reverend Andy C. Lewter.  He served as an Associate Minister at Hollywood held positions as Deacon, Gospel Chorus President, Communications Specialist, and member of the Brotherhood.

In 1980, Bishop was ordained.  He organized and founded the Faith Missionary Baptist  Church which was chartered by the Eastern Baptist Association.  The Bishop is also the former Moderator of the Long Island Progressive Missionary Baptist Churches General Association (three consecutive terms). During his tenure he was responsible for establishing the Long Island Progressive Bible College and bringing an International component to the Association.

In 2014, Bishop Smith was elevated to Chief Prelate of the True Foundation Ministries International Reformation, affiliated with Greater Friendship Assemblies under Chief prelate/Chief Apostle Dr. Mitchell H. Hudson.

Bishop Smith preaches the Gospel across the United States and Internationally.  He has provided spiritual leadership and guidance to his congregation.  He provides council to the sons and daughters in ministry who have gone on to pastor their own congregations.  For 36 years, Pastor Smith labored in the vineyard at Faith Missionary Baptist Church, Huntington Station, NY.  

In April 2017, after relocating to Asheville, NC, Bishop Smith was called to pastor Greater New Zion Baptist Church.  He loves the Lord and trust in His Word!


"For the administration of this service not only supplieth the want of the saints, but is abundant also by many thanksgivings unto God..."

Business Manager and Treasurer - Betty Garner 

Deacons who serve well "obtain for themselves a good standing and great boldness in the faith" (I Timothy 3:13).

Chairman - Deacon James Featherstone, Vice Chairman - Deacon Edward Garner, Jr.,
Senior Deacon - Benjamin Smith, Deacon Charles Thompson, Deacon Otis Suber,
Deacon Robert Gilliand, Deacon Walter Mills, Deacon Greg Williams

Board of Trustees
"Commit your work to the Lord, and your plans will be established." (Proverbs 16:3)

Chairperson - Betty Garner, Vice Chairperson - Marvina Suber, Secretary - Vickie Featherstone, Josie Gilliand, Luretta Briggs, Kim Smith, Frances Mills

Budget and Finance Commitee
"But this I say, He which soweth sparingly shall reap sparingly; and he which soweth bountifully shall reap also bountifully." (2 Corinthians  9:6)

Chairperson - Luretta Briggs, Vice Chairperson - Robert Gilliand, Betty Garner, Edward Garner, Katherine Mills, Wanda Featherstone, Elicia Ward, Verdine Spicer Reece, Donovon Reece, Linnon McClain

Senior Usher Board
"For a day in thy courts is better than a thousand.  I had rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God, than to dwell in the tents of wickedness." (Psalm 84:10)

Chairperson - Cora Robinson, Kim Whitaker, Ken Whitaker, Shawn Jake Jacobs, Erika Brown, Elicia Ward

Junior Usher Board
"Train up a child in the way he should go; and when he old, he will not depart from it." (Proverbs 22:6)

Robbi Gilliand, Davone Hazel, Aubrey Brown, Isaiah Williams, Solomon Williams, Jabari Rhymes

Music Department
Make a joyful noise unto the LORD, all the earth; make a loud noise, and rejoice, and sing praise. (Psalms 98:4)

Minister of Music - Elder Damion McDay, Drummer - Ancil Edmonds

Building and Grounds 

Director - Charles Thompson, Assistant Director - Edward Garner, Jr., Ken Whitaker, Linnon McClain


Director - Edward Garner, Jr., Assistant Director - Otis Suber


"For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved."
(Romans 10:13)

President - Josie Gilliand, Secretary - Cora Robinson, Assistant Secretary - Vickie Featherstone, Treasurer - Marvinia Suber, Program Chairperson - Frances Mills, Women's Conference Chairperson - Betty Garner, Sick Committee Chairperson - Katherine Mills, Luretta Briggs, Mary Cunningham, Kim Smith, Willa Boswell, Faye Banks, Wanda Padillio


Mother Elnora Lynch
Mother Rosa Sirmons
Mother Beulah Summey
Mother Azalea Davidson


Chairperson - Frances Mills


Chairperson - Marvinia Suber
Website Builder provided by  Vistaprint